Local Government

The DeWitt area is governed by two separate forms of government.

The City of DeWitt covers approximately 2.7 square miles with a 2010 reported population of 4,507. DeWitt was incorporated as a city in 1965. The City of DeWitt is a Mayor/Council form of government with six members serving on the council. The City Council meetings are held at 7:00 pm the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at City Hall. (Check the city’s website for exact meeting dates and times)

DeWitt Charter Township governs an area of approximately 32 square miles with a 2010 reported population of 14,321. The township is governed by a elected Board of Trustees including a Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer, and four Trustees. The Board of Trustees meets the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 pm at the DeWitt Township Hall. (Check the township’s website for exact meeting dates and times)

Even though the two governmental bodies are independent, they work in cooperation with each other to build the most attractive and progressive community in Mid-Michigan. While each has its own governing structure they have been leaders in regional cooperation, creating and combining such operations as the DeWit Area Recreation Authority (DARA), The DeWitt District Library and the Southern Clinton County Municipal Utilities Authority (SCCMUA).

The Township Fire Department is supported by full and part-time staff professionals, two fire stations and responds to over 1,000 calls per year. The Police Department is supported by sixteen full -time police professionals and K-9 team.

Fire protection for the City of DeWitt is provided by the DeWitt Area Emergency Services Authority. The City of DeWitt has full-time, full service police department responsible for providing quality police service to its citizens.

City of DeWitt www.dewittmi.org
DeWitt Charter Township www.dewitttownship.org
Clinton County Michigan http://www.clinton-county.org/
State of Michigan www.michigan.gov